BINUS International Office

Hawasaa University

Hawassa University (HU) is a comprehensive university which was established in 2000 through the merger of three independently operating colleges in the Southern Region. They were Awassa College of Agriculture (ACA), Wondogenet College of Forestry and Natural Resources (WCFNR) and Dilla College of Teacher Education and Health Science (now an autonomous University). Currently, Hawassa University has seven functional campuses out of which ACA campus (College of Agriculture), the CMHS Campus (College of Medicine and Health’s Sciences), Institute of Technology(IoT) Campus and the Main Campus (the seat for the top administration) are located in Hawassa City. The rest three, Wondo Genet Campus (WCFNR), at Wondogenet, Awada Campus (College of Business and Economics, near Yirgalem town and Bensa Daye Campus,(Bensa Daye City), are situated out of Hawassa.

Within it seven campuses, HU operates 9 Colleges and 2 Institutes (Institute of Technology, IOT and Institute of Policy and Development Research, IPDR). The IOT is is situated adjacent to the Main Campus. Currently HU runs 81 Undergraduate degree programmes, 108 Masters and 16 PhD programmes in its 41 Schools and Departments. HU has recently established three Centers: Center of “Excellence for Teacher Education and Educational Leaders , Academic Center of Excellence in Human Nutrition and STEM Center.