People Innovation Excellence

Australian Catholic University

Australian Catholic University (ACU) was opened on 1 January 1991 following the amalgamation of four Catholic tertiary institutions in eastern Australia; Catholic College of Education Sydney, Institute of Catholic Education, McAuley College, and Signadou College of Education. These institutions had their origins in the mid-1800s, when religious orders and institutes became involved in preparing teachers for Catholic schools and, later, nurses for Catholic hospitals. Through a series of amalgamations, relocations, transfers of responsibilities and diocesan initiatives, more than 20 historical entities have contributed to the creation of the university.

ACU has a wide range of institutes and centres, as well as four faculties; Education and Arts, Health Sciences, Law and Business, and Theology and Philosophy.

ACU has seven campuses across Australia, Adelaide, Ballarat, Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne and Sydney (North Sydney and Strathfield). In 2015, the university opened the Rome Centre, a collaboration with the Catholic University of America, located in Rome, Italy

Last updated :